DeBakey Journalism Award Deadline Approaching

The Michael E. DeBakey Journalism Awards, named after the Foundation for Biomedical Research's (FBR) late chairman Dr. Michael E. DeBakey, honor reporting that has enhanced public understanding of how the humane and responsible use of animal models leads to medical and scientific discoveries.  Awards are presented for outstanding investigative or interpretive reporting published, broadcast or posted online between May 1st, 2014 and April 30th, 2015.

Entries may be submitted in the following categories. FBR reserves the right to adjust placement of entries based on number and quality of entries in each category. If you have any questions about which category in which you should enter, please email

  • Print – Large Market (national/international)
  • Print – Small Market (local/regional)
  • Television
  • Radio
  • Online

Entries must be accompanied by the following:

  • Cover letter (or email) from journalist explaining the importance of the piece,
  • Category in which the journalist is entering,
  • Journalist’s brief  biography,
  • Brief letter/email of consent from employer supervisor/employer,
  • Optional letter(s) of support from employer or colleagues, and
  • The story itself, either as attachment or as link.


Deadline for entry is June 15th, 2015. 

Submit your entry to:, Subject: The Michael E. DeBakey Journalism Awards


Foundation for Biomedical Research
1100 Vermont Avenue, NW Suite 1100
Washington DC 20005
Attention: The Michael E. DeBakey Journalism Awards

 2013-2014 Winners:

Kerry Sanders & Erika Angulo, NBC News (Television)

Kristen Brown, San Francisco Chronicle (Print, Small Market)

Amy Dockser Marcus, The Wall Street Journal (Print, Large Market)

 Rebecca Jacobson, PBS NewsHour (Online) (tie)

Dr. Ann Hohenhaus, (Online) (tie)

Jon Hamilton, National Public Radio (Radio)

Florie Charles & the UCSF Science Policy Group (Viral Video)